Amanda Whitt – Power Child

power.png

Title: Power Child (sampler)
Artist: Amanda Whitt
Year: 1986-89
Genre: Metal
Type: Girls only

I recently managed to get a kid who I work with at my local community center into metal, and he’s really taken off with the concept – he likes to headbang, he’ll say “that’s what metal is,” he promises me front row seats to his future concerts – and it reminded me of an infamous girl by the name of Amanda.

Amanda Whitt, now all grown up, recorded some legendary tapes with her brothers between the ages of 8 and 11.  Contained within are crazy noise/metal/punk(?) songs that are powered by her growling and shrieking vocals and often accompanied by the banging of pots and bands.  It’s not exactly what one might call “charming,” but it’s definitely captivating.  I’m a huge fan of children performing with absolutely no adult supervision, because it really creates something that’s special that would no doubt be categorized as outsider music.  You can read more about Amanda and the tapes here.

DOWNLOAD

Leave a comment